Why I read past my bedtime.

Why do you keep reading past your bedtime when you know you’ll be dead at work the next day?reading.jpg

When you go to the movies what causes you to grab the arm of the person sitting next to you? Hopefully it’s the person you went with, but I have grabbed the arm of a stranger.

It’s the adrenaline rush. The rush we love to experience.

It is different with each of us, but it causes us to suck in our breath, scream aloud, look away, or jump in our seats. It is what we talk about after the show with our friends.

I love moves that astound me. I know the bad person will be caught, but I am on the roller fearcoaster ride with the characters throughout the movie.

So where did I develop my need for this rush of adrenaline? It’s very simple, old TV shows.

Blog for Cindy – Suspense

Why do you keep reading past your bedtime when you know you’ll be dead at work the next day?

When you go to the movies what causes you to grab the arm of the person sitting next to you? Hopefully it’s the person you went with, but I have grabbed the arm of a stranger.

It’s the adrenaline rush. The rush we love to experience.

It is different with each of us, but it causes us to suck in our breath, scream aloud, look away, or jump in our seats. It is what we talk about after the show with our friends.

I love moves that astound me. I know the bad person will be caught, but I am on the roller coaster ride with the characters throughout the movie.

So where did I develop my need for this rush of adrenaline? It’s very simple, old TV shows. As a kid, I watched all the Alfred Hitchcock Presents shows. Then I graduated to his movies on late night TV. To this day, when I see a flock of birds sitting on a hydro wire, my pulse quickens.

Rear Window is my most favorite movie of all time. I still jump in places even though I know what is coming. I still cry out “Be careful, watch out,” even though I know it won’t make a difference to the outcome.

In my opinion, that is great story telling. When I can live the story over and over again and I don’t get tired of it.

Another favorite show I watched as a kid was Rod Stirling’s Twilight Zone. I was terrified and mesmerized at the same time and no matter how many times I said I wasn’t going to watch it, I was glue to the TV at the same time every week getting my dose of adrenaline rush.

Now I’m addicted to The Walking Dead, and Supernatural. They have me on the edge of my seat, heart pounding, fists clinched, and I love it.

What causes your adrenaline rush?

 

Leave a Reply

