Beading Beat – Peyote Stitch

Beading Beat (2)

My first attempt at Even-Count Flat Peyote Stitch.

I got all excited about doing a bracelet in Peyote stitch, but I couldn’t get it to going the right way, so I decided to signed up for a course to make earrings. How hard could that be?20160909_153535-1

We started by using large kid’s beads to master the stitch. I had difficulty with turning the work, but finally got it and felt good about the project I decided to do. I was so wrong.

When we picked out the beads, I realized I was in trouble. We use size 11 beads. I could barely see them let alone work with them.

I choose light pink and gunmetal beads.

I picked them up with the needle and threaded them. It took me the rest of the day to get the turn right and get a big enough piece to wrap it around a straw to make a strong cylinder.

Then we threaded a sliver bead onto a silver head the put the head pin through the straw. Thread another silver bead to the end then make a loop and attached it to the earring.

The other ladies progressed on to a second earring, but it was all I could do to get the one earring done. I finished the other earring at home over the weekend.

I love the look of this stitch, but it will take me longer to master than I thought.

What has been the most challenging beaded piece you’ve worked on?

Leave a Reply

