Interview with Deb Cooke.

Today I’m interviewing one of my favorite authors DeDeborahCooke[1]b Cooke.

Q: Tell us a little about yourself.

I write books about relationships and the power of love. Most of these are romances, but some are mainstream or fantasy with romantic elements. I’ve been writing all of my life, but have been published since 1993. I’ve worked with many traditional publishing houses (Harlequin, Dell, Warner Books, Berkley, New American Library and TOR) but am currently indie-publishing my books. This is a wonderful adventure and I’m really enjoying it. I have more control over the way my books go out into the world, and also over the kinds of stories I tell.

I believe in mentoring, and was honoured to be chosen as the writer-in-residence at the Toronto Public Library in 2009, which was the first time they hosted a residency focused on the romance genre. Since then, two of the authors whose work I read have been published, which is wonderful. I also was chosen as the RWA PRO Mentor of the Year in 2012, which still thrills me. Beyond that, I live in Canada with my family and knit way too much.

 

Q: What authors have most influenced you? Why?

I think the strongest influences are authors we read when we’re young. I read a lot of genre fiction and linked books when I was a kid, so authors like Agatha Christie and Phyllis A. Whitney were very influential. I still like a bit of mystery in my romances! I’ve also always been a fan of fairy tales, and that interest colours all of my work.

 

Q: What are you reading now?

I’m reading a lot of non-fiction right now, researching a new medieval romance series set during the Crusades. Three are a lot of history books in my stack right now, as well as contemporary sources like Christine de Pizan’s City of Ladies. i just finished reading the Call the Midwife trilogy, which was interesting, too.

 

Q: What is your favorite punctuation mark and why?

I like subordinate clauses, so the comma would be my choice.

 

Q: Tell us about your new release.

The Frost Maiden’s Kiss is my 50th book published. It’s a medieval romance, and the third in my True Love Brides series. Eight years before the beginning of this book, Malcolm inherited a ruined estate and left to seek his fortune as a mercenary. The book begins when he returns with enough wealth to rebuild Ravensmuir, but scarred by his experience. He takes a bargain with the Fae, vowing to surrender his own soul in six months’ time, in order to save his companion, because he believes himself doomed. In that half year, he plans to build a legacy for one of his nephews, and leave something of merit in the world. Catriona is a serving woman fleeing her past, whose mix of strength and vulnerability touches Malcolm, making him wish he hadn’t made that pledge. I love how these two heal each other and how they work together to rebuild both Ravensmuir and their entwined lives.

 

There is one more book in the True Love Brides series, The Warrior’s Prize, which is Elizabeth’s book and will be published in December 2014.

Thanks Deb for visiting with us today.

One thought on “Interview with Deb Cooke.

Leave a Reply

